DebtConsolidationCare [A+ on BBB] Logo
DebtConsolidationCare Forums
Discuss your problems and get out of debt
Get honest and blunt feedback on your debt issues from Experts for FREE
For Free Debt Counseling: Call 800-DEBT-913 or

Being sued by Michael J. Scott, PC

Stormy25
member profile picture

I am being sued in Texas by Michael J. Scott, PC for a Citibank debt. I sent a debt verification letter but they never responded to that. Instead I get a lawsuit. I thought they had to verify the debt before continuing collection efforts. I am new to all of this and not sure what to do. Does anyone have any experience with this law firm?

skydivr7673

Credits: 57965.461082155

Sub: #1 hang on a second, you sent them a debt validation request and th
Fri, 04/30/2010 - 20:01

hang on a second, you sent them a debt validation request and they didnt validate, but they then sued? That is against the law in Texas, big time. Texas has its own state law that says once you send a DV request letter to a debt collector, they have to validate the debt within 30 days or else they cannot collect on the debt at all. I would definitely check into legal aid or speak to an attorney on this one, it looks like youre getting hosed. One more thing--when you sent the DV letter, did you send it to the lawyer or to Citibank? And also, did you send it by certified mail?

Unregistered

Sub: #2 I sent the DV letter to the lawyer. I sent it by certified mail
Fri, 04/30/2010 - 20:48

I sent the DV letter to the lawyer. I sent it by certified mail and I have the green card back. He never sent back a verification of the debt. .

Unregistered

Sub: #3 That's right, they did not respond to my debt verification reque
Fri, 04/30/2010 - 21:03

That's right, they did not respond to my debt verification request and is suing. I sent the DV letter via certified mail to the lawyer and have the green card back, but no verification.

goldenbast

Debt Samaritan
Credits: 38049.53595291